Wednesday, January 10, 2018

SCVTA names new Board chair, vice chair

SCVTA names new Board chair, vice chair SCVTA

The Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority (SCVTA) Board of Directors has elected its new 2018 chair and vice chair.



Mayor of San Jose and 2017 Vice Chair Sam Liccardo succeeds City of Los Altos Council member and chair Jeannie Bruins, which the Board decided at its December 2017 meeting.

Liccardo serves on the SCVTA Board of Directors and represents the city of San José, SCVTA said.

Mayor Liccardo also represents the city of San José on the Diridon Station Joint Policy Advisory Board and served as that committee's chairperson for 2016 and 2017.

He also is a commissioner on the Metropolitan Transportation Commission, representing the city of San José. Liccardo previously served on the SCVTA Board of Directors representing City Group 1 (City of San José) from 2007–2013, and served as the Board chairperson for 2010 and vice chairperson in 2009.

"In 2018, we'll continue pursuing every opportunity available to address our growing traffic problems and help build a world-class transportation system for the entire region," Liccardo said. "In particular, I look forward to the launch of the first 10-mile segment of [SCVTA's] Extension of BART Silicon Valley later this year and continuing the crucial work to extend service all the way to Downtown San Jose and Santa Clara."

The Board also elected Santa Clara Council member Teresa O'Neill as vice chair. O'Neill serves on the SCVTA Board of Directors representing City Group 5 (the Northeast Cities of Milpitas, Santa Clara and Sunnyvale) and was named to the role in 2016.

She serves on the Congestion Management Program and Planning Committee, and was chairperson of the committee in 2017. She also serves on the Governance & Audit Committee, the Capital Projects Oversight Committee, and on the BART Silicon Valley Ad Hoc Committee, where she was vice chairperson for 2017.

O'Neill represents SCVTA on the Capitol Corridor Joint Powers Board, as well as on the County Expressways Policy Advisory Committee. She also currently represents the city of Santa Clara on SCVTA's El Camino Real Rapid Transit Policy Advisory Board and represented Santa Clara on SCVTA's Policy Advisory Committee for many years.

"I am honored to serve as vice chair on the [SCVTA] Board for 2018," O'Neill said. "Together, in partnership with a dedicated and enthusiastic Board along with vital input from residents, I look forward to innovating and implementing transportation solutions that our communities are looking to us to provide."